2016 Award Winners

Award Presentations

James Reeves Member Contribution Award

Maine - Deborah Johnson

Deborah JohnsonJames Reeves was an exemplary state official, who served the people of Mississippi for many years. Jim also was a dedicated and loyal member of COSCDA, who belonged to our organization himself, but also involved his colleagues in COSCDA. To honor Jim's memory, the COSCDA board established a special award, to be announced each year at the annual conference, to recognize a COSCDA member who has made particular and sustained contributions to the organization during a five-year period.

The 2016 James Reeves Award was presented to Deborah Johnson is the Director of the Maine Office of Community Development (OCD) within the Department of Economic and Community Development.

Deborah is the consummate advocate of COSCDA and our policies, she is one who never says no to carrying the COSCDA message. She is a person that takes on challenges and completes tasks with actions not only words. Well, many words also; she is a never give up person that carries the bucket and not just the water...the complete message not only snippets. On numerous occasions, Deborah followed through with action to match her words. At conferences and workshops she challenged other COSCDA members to also take action to provide federal agencies with enlightenment on the differences and similarities between states program delivery and management. She also made her views known to HUD about the unnecessary burden to the state's programs. Deborah prepared and administered a Member Survey to gage the effectiveness of COSCDA webpage - a task that took significant time and follow-up with the members.

Deborah also worked un-tiringly with her US Congressional representatives and staff for educating them and requesting their support on COSCDA member issues. This ran the range from environmental to fair housing tools to Section 3 to state administration increases for CDBG program. Always an advocate of the programs serving and benefiting the people of all states. She attends national and regional conference, hosted a regional conference and financially supports COSCDA activities. Her concern for the organization is unbounded, she is dynamic energetic, displaying a serving spirit, always willing to lend a hand.

As COSCDA's president, it is my pleasure to present the 2016 James Reeves award to Deborah Johnson, Director, Office of Community Development, Maine Department of Economic & Community Development.

2016 COSCDA Presidential Award for Innovation

State of Kentucky - Northern Kentucky Scholar House

2016 COSCDA Sterling Achievement Award for Homelessness

State of Georgia - Gordon County Voluntary Action Center

2016 COSCDA Sterling Achievement Award for Community Development

State of Georgia - Warren County, Georgia Development Fund

2016 COSCDA Sterling Achievement Award - Housing

State of Georgia - Neighborhood Stabilization Program (NSP)